Project Folders

Projects can be arranged into folders in much the same way as on your computer. As well as being able to keep your project organised, folders can be used to define which parts of the project users are able to access.

When you first create a new project you’ll be taken to the overview tab and on the left hand side you'll see your project folders column. If you've used a template to create the project this area may be be populated with predefined folders, however if you haven't you will see one folder named after the Project itself.

Project Template

Project Templates are a useful tool if you find that you are often using the same setup when creating projects as they allow you to define folder structure, team settings and more making multiple project setups far quicker.

Folder Contextual Menu

When you hover your cursor over a folder you will see a small arrow appear . This is the Folder contextual menu which affords you many options for organising your project. When using any of these tools the actions will apply to only the folder from where you accessed the menu.

Create New folder

To create a new folder simply click the button in the contextual menu and a new window will open for you to give the folder a name, then just click Save. The new folder you’ve created will live inside the folder from where you created it (nested). Just like on your computer you can use the disclosure triangle to the left of the folder name to show or hide the nested folders.

You can rename a folder from it's contextual menu by choosing edit and then choosing a new name in the resulting pop-up window.

Re-Organising Folders

It's very easy to reorganise your folders or even move them to other projects from the contextual menu. To move a folder within your project:

  1. Open the contextual menu from the folder you want to move.
  2. Click Move and then choose the folder you want to move it to.
  3. Click Move again and the folder you started with will now be inside the folder you selected from the move menu.

To move the folder to a different project:

  1. Open the contextual menu and click Move.
  2. At the top of the move window click Want to move files to another project? which will reveal a search bar.
  3. Use the search bar to find the project you want to move the folder to simply by typing the project name and choosing it from the available options.
  4. You’ll now see the folder structure of the new project and you can select one of these folders to move the original folder to.

You can also delete folders by clicking remove from the contextual menu. A new window will display confirming you want to delete the folder, to do so click Delete or if you made a mistake click cancel

N.B Deleting a project folder will also delete all the files within it.

Sharing Project Folders

Also from the contextual menu you can quickly share a specific folder with a user (this will also add that user to your team{{Managing Project Teams}} and manage existing users that have access to that folder.

To share with a new user:

  1. Open the contextual menu of the folder you want to share.
  2. Click share and in the text box at the top type the name of the users/teams you want to add.
  3. Select the role{{Project Roles}} you want the user(s) to have from the drop-down menu.
  4. You can set an access expiry date or if you want the users to have access indefinitely leave this blank.
  5. If you want the users to access all the folders inside this one tick include subfolders.
  6. When you’re done click Add.

You can add different groups of users with different permissions to do this click Add More and repeat steps 3 - 6.

Sharing Permissions for Project Roles

It is possible to set permission levels for different users on a project and furthermore their corresponding sharing ability. Essentially this means that a user cannot share a project with somebody and grant them higher permissions than their own.

Available options will be based on the project role of the sharing user and can be pre-defined for each business unit. If users then go on to share a folder, the roles dropdown will only display the roles available to them:


If users want to share several folders and/or sub-folders, having different permissions for each folder, the role with the lowest permission in common between all folders succeeds. However, this only applies if there are any common permissions found at all. Otherwise, no roles are available.


In addition, the possibility to share each folder separately still remains. 

If you would like to define/setup the ‘Sharing Permissions for Project Roles’ please submit a request to our Help Centre, as this has to be configured behind the scenes.

Within your request, kindly provide the following:

  • Business Unit name
  • User email/name
  • Project roles that need to be changed/setup
  • Permissions you would like to have enabled

Existing Shares

If you'd like to view who currently has access to a specific folder you can go to the share menu at the top of the window and click users already on this folder. When viewing the list, you can change the user's role and access expiry date by selecting the relevant options on that user’s row and you can also remove a user from that folder entirely by clicking the X.

Folder Contextual Menu{nav}

Re-Organising Folders{nav}

Sharing Project Folders{nav}

Sharing Permissions for Project Roles{nav}

Existing Shares{nav}

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request